Too much medication?

April 6, 2010 at 6:26 pm (Uncategorized)

So lately I have been feeling really tired and I have been taking my medication like I am suppose to. The funny thing is, when I take my antideppressants every other day I actually feel better. Could the medicine be too much on my body? Right now I am taking 20mg of Lexapro which is supposed to help me with not only depression, but also anxiety. There are times when I get really stressed out and anxious, so I also take Klonopin for that. My doctor that prescribed it to me wanted me to take it twice a day, once in the morning and once at night. I couldn’t even stay awake during the day when I did that, so now I just take it when I feel a panic attack coming on. I don’t know if any of you have ever had a panic attack, but it feels like you are out of control and you don’t know what to do with yourself. If you have had one before, then you definitely know what I am talking about. I have gotten 6 panic attacks in the past couple of years and they mostly happen when I am driving. The first time I had one I had no idea what was going on with my body. My friend had taken me out to Chipotle for lunch and the place was really crowded. I was standing in line waiting to get my food and talking to my friend when it hit me out of nowhere. I just remember looking around and thinking that there were way too many people in this tiny place and it was way too loud. My heart start beating so fast and hard that I could actually hear it. I felt like my throat and chest were tightening up and it was getting harder and harder for me to breath. Different parts of my body started to get this tingly feeling like all of these little things were poking me. I started to feel dizzy and I told my friend that I didn’t feel well, but I had a really hard time expressing to her exactly what was wrong with me. I really thought in my head that I was going to die and I had a really hard time controlling my breathing. I got out of line and sat down at the nearest seat that I could find. I put my head in my hands and I remember feeling really embarrased and I didn’t want anyone to look at me. I was afraid that someone in the restaraunt was looking at me thinking that I was going crazy. At the time I wouldn’t be able to explain to you what was going on with my body, but I could tell you that it is the worst feeling that I have ever left. I remember feeling vunerable and scared at the same time. I saw my counselor that same day and she explained to me that I had a panic attack. I actually really enjoyed that session because she taught me a relaxation techniques.

Leave a Reply

